Just to put this into perspective, Ghee also known as clarified butter, anhydrous butter oil or simply clear butter fat is derived from butter. Butter is churned from cream and then simmered after which impurities floating on the surface are skimmed off and the residue at the bottom removed.
Usually, ghee is recommended as safe for people allergic to milk as it contains almost zero lactose or casein. Still it is a no-no for the vegan because fact is, it is a dairy product. So if you are an ardent fan of Indian delis like Butter Naan, curries, biryani, Kadhi and all the others, it had better be that they use ghee alternatives like vegetable oil.
This is how ghee is made, by the way:
Quite honestly, I find that although Indian vegan eat-outs are there, you should be ready to pay an arm and a leg just for a ghee-free meal that you can easily fix from the comfort of your kitchen.
So what Vegan Alternatives are there for Ghee?
- Olive oil
- Flax Seed Oil
- Coconut oil
- Sesame oil
- Corn oil
Here is a simple, yet very delicious Tomato Dal recipe that will charm any vegan.
What do you use instead of ghee?