Are Slurpees Vegan?

Are Slurpees Vegan?
The answer: YES

Slurpees by 7-Eleven happen to be people’s favorite, totally irresistible under extreme summer heat. In fact, every year on 11th of July the company gives away free Slurpees to celebrate their birthday and as a thank you to their loyal customers.

This ice-cold fruit drink comes in a wide array of flavors like Mango Madness, Tangy Cherry Bomber, Orange Russian, Peach Raspberry, and many more to choose from and is completely vegan. However, don’t be too excited with this drink as it is calorie-packed. A high fat and sugar content in your drink is a definite no-no more so if you are in the habit of a daily intake.
Its main ingredients are:

  • Artificial Dye
  • High Fructose Corn syrup (HFCS)
  • Water
  • Natural and artificial flavors

Others ingredients:

  • Caffeine
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Erythorbic acid
  • Brominated Vegetable Oil
  • Quillaia extract

You may also want to check ingredients in details by visiting the Slurpees website.


While there might have been claims that Slurpees’ sugar content may be in contact with animal sources, this is not true. HFCS is not filtered through a bone char like granulated sugar.

Other claims state that its dye is derived from animals but this is often due to the similarity in some dye names. For example, Red 40 and Red 4 are completely different. One is animal based while the other is not. Once you know the difference, you are on the safe side.

From a health perspective, each 8-ounce serving of a regular Slurpee contains 120 to 135 calories, way too high if you’re conscious of your health. The Lite version might have fewer calories at between 66 and 80 which may or may not be detrimental depending on your calorie needs.


However, nothing beats a freshly prepared homemade fruit drink from natural fruits. Here are 3 easy recipes of home-made refreshing drinks:


How do you hydrate yourself in a healthy way on a hot day?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *