Only one ingredient disqualifies this time-honored cereal from being vegan. Kellogg’s Apple Jacks Cereals contain Vitamin D3.
Vitamin D3 is a supplement containing cholecalciferol which is commonly used to fortify foods. Now, cholecalciferol can either be derived from fish oil or sheep’s lanolin, which is the sticky substance released by the glands in the skin of sheep. Fish victims of cholecalciferol extraction include salmons and tunas, known to have a plenty of fat in their liver and fatty tissues.
Now that we know that Apple O’s are not vegan, let’s scrutinize their ingredients a little further. Yellow 6, Red 40, and Blue 1 are also an inclusion in these cereals, no wonder it is color and a children’s favorite. Children will obviously be attracted to color. These artificial colors are derived from petroleum (!) and are no doubt vegan. However, they may not be as healthy as plain full grain cereals without added color. On the health platform, they have been linked to health complications like allergies.
Check Europe’s products and those with artificial food coloring will always come with a warning on the food label.
However, because vegans never run out of healthy options, here are some purely vegan cereals you can look for during your next visit to the stores:
- Cascadian Farm Organic Berry Vanilla Puffs (check on Amazon)
- Cascadian Farm Organic Chocolate O’s (check on Amazon)
- Cascadian Farm Organic Cinnamon Crunch (check on Amazon)
- Cascadian Farm Organic Fruitful O’s (check on Amazon)
- Barbara’s Brown Rice Crisps (check on Amazon)
- Barbara’s Organic Corn Flakes (check on Amazon)
- Kashi Organic Promise Autumn Wheat (check on Amazon)
- Kashi Organic Promise Island Vanilla (check on Amazon)
What’s your favorite Vegan Cereal?