Is Jam Vegan?

Is Jam Vegan?

Posted on
The answer: Mostly YES

Jam is certainly vegan-friendly and a usually healthy one at that. However, always check the label to be sure that the one you have picked contains pectin and not gelatin.

Gelatin is a definite no-no for the vegan as it is derived from animal parts like tendons, ligaments, skin, and bones mostly of cows and pigs boiled together. On the other hand, pectin which is quite similar to gelatin is obtained from fruits like apples, gooseberries, cherries, grapes, plums, pears, peaches, and citrus fruits like lemons and oranges through the use of heat and acid and made into liquid or powder form. It is used as a thickening or gelling agent in jams.

 

Jams are an important aspect of baking as they will bring in the much needed healthy fruit flavor to your pastries and garnish them too. Therefore, by all means, pack up your pantry with fruit jam varieties because your tarts, cakes, cookies, toast, waffles, biscuits, even grills will certainly need them!

 

Fiber-Rich

Pectin contains a high level of fiber which from a health perspective is good for your body as this helps with lowering cholesterol levels. In other instances, it is a good appetite suppressant so if you are struggling with shedding some weight, you may well consider fruit jam.

Even more interesting is the fact that you can easily fix your own jam at home. After all, this is the only way you will make sure your jam is 100% vegan. Here is a simple recipe to start you off:

 
What’s your favorite fruit for jam?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *