Are Twizzlers Vegan?

Are Twizzlers Vegan?

Posted on
The answer: Mostly YES

Who does not adore Twizzlers? Twizzlers like Black Liquorice has been used for decades as a basic candy in every outdoor and theater events. Although they don’t contain gelatin or any animal derived product, they may not completely be gluten free if you are keen on nutrition. For this reason, you may need to check the ingredient label of each product to be sure you are not swaying away from your health values.


The popularity of Twizzlers is because they can be found in a variety of flavors including Cherry, Chocolate, Strawberry, and Black Liquorice among many others. The company has two options for consumers: the straw and the rope designed version which can be tied to form knots.

And here is how they are made:


The good news is that this candy may be vegan. Although they are not made with gelatin or any other dairy derivative, they contain mono- and diglycerides, which are a bit difficult to tell whether they are derived from animals or plants. An inquiry from the company that manufactures Twizzlers, Hershey’s, about the origin of mono and diglycerides used, as an ingredient was further confusing. The company confirmed that these ingredients were actually made from vegetable oil but were unsure about the origin flavors used for various candies were vegans. In addition, the company makes it difficult for vegans to know the origin of its derivatives, as its policy does not require its flavor suppliers to disclose what they use in making them. There is also the potential of sugar, refined by bone char being used.


If you are not an overly picky vegan, you will probably not mind these piffling details.


Love candies? Go ahead and indulge, but you will need to mind nutrition. Too much of candy means an excess intake of sugar which is not good for your body system.


Which Twizzler flavor don’t you like and why?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *