Are Ben & Jerry’s Vegan?

Are Twizzlers Vegan?
The answer: YES and NO

Ben and Jerry’s is an American company that produces products like ice cream, sorbet, and frozen yogurt. All these products were originally non-vegan. Some of them included Vermonster, Chubby Hubby, Apple-y Ever After and Yes Pecan. For instance, the Vermonster is basically a large milk ice cream served on the Vermonster Bucket.


Basically, dairy stands central in most of Ben & Jerry’s non-vegan products. For instance, the ingredients used in making Ben and Jerry’s Vermonster are:

  • 20 scoops of milk ice cream
  • four bananas
  • four hot fudge
  • chocolate
  • walnuts.

The Vermonster had 14 kilocalories and 500 grams of fat.


However, in the best interest of the vegan community, Ben & Jerry’s introduced three certified non-dairy ice creams late last year after a long wait and pressure from the conscientious consumers. The first three vegan flavors to be released were the Cherry Garcia, Caramel Almond Brittle, and Coconut Seven Layer bars with almond milk instead of dairy cream. The company has been adding more non-dairy frozen dessert hence giving vegans a wide range of options to select from.


Spotting these vegan Ben and Jerry’s products on the store shelves is easy because they have a certified vegan logo.


You may want to consider a limited intake if you are concerned about the amount of processed sugar that enters your system. For example, the non-vegan Chunky Monkey frozen dessert contains

  • Almond Milk
  • Liquid Sugar
  • Coconut Oil
  • Sugar
  • Walnuts
  • Bananas
  • Corn Syrup Solids
  • Dried Cane Syrup
  • Cocoa
  • Pea Protein
  • Sunflower Lecithin
  • Lemon Juice Concentrate
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Guar Gum
  • Natural Flavor (Coconut)
  • Locust Bean Gum.


Sugar appears almost four times in this ingredients list i.e liquid sugar, sugar, corn syrup solids, and dried cane syrup.


You can opt for plain soy yogurt, fruits or fresh juice to stick to the healthier side of life and have Ben & Jerry’s occasionally if you have to.


How do you cope with your ice cream cravings?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *