Frankly, this topic leaves many vegans with more questions than answers. So many soda varieties are out there making it hard to conclude that sodas are vegan or they are not. Coke and Pepsi, for instance, are considered vegan-friendly. However, the Coca-Cola Company has made it clear to the public that only Coke soda is vegan and not the juice.
The idea here is to be on the lookout for non-vegan elements on the label even though this may not be easy without in-depth background knowledge of vegan and non-vegan foods and additives ingredients like carmine, dairy, Glycerol/Ester Gum, and some other natural non-vegan flavors. Carmine, a bright red coloring is contained in sodas. It is extracted from crushed Cochineal bug which is considered not vegan.
Some sodas also contain ester gum which is also of animal orientation. Surprisingly most sodas don’t contain ester gum apart from orange sodas. Glycerol, on the other hand, can be plant or animal based. Unfortunately, most sodas contain animal based Glycerol.
In short, Coca-Cola is safe for vegans, but the same can’t be said for other Coke drinks. “Safe” here is a relative notion. Even though it is vegan, nothing positive can be said about its healthiness. Read my post on Coca-Cola to find out more.
Why not stay away from sodas and instead opt for healthier options. Here are five absolutely healthier options that you can consider as replacements to soda.
- Green Tea – Take this however you like it, hot or cold, plain or sweetened and there is a whole wide variety to choose from.
- Flavored water – put in slices of your favorite fruits in ice-cold water and have it refreshing.
- Fresh juice – Nothing beats the taste of freshly blended juice or punch.
- Vegetable juice – Absolutely healthy and fresh and can be combined with fruits for that charming flavor.
- Coffee – Coffee isn’t bad after all if taken in moderation.
What would you rather have instead of soda?