Is Jell-O Vegan?

Is Jell-O Vegan?

Posted on
The answer: NO

Jell-O is not vegan. Gelatin is used to produce Jello-O. And here is how gelatin is made:

Nevertheless, because vegans too deserve to enjoy jelly, they still have their chances savoring their favorite dessert with similar alternatives.

To start with, Jell-O represents a variety of gelatin desserts and is today a registered trademark of Kraft Foods. Gelatin is a product of boiled cow and pig hides, ligaments, hooves, cartilage, tendons or bones and this is seriously not vegan.

Closer home, gelatin is used in the preparation of desserts such as pudding and Jell-O is a popular example, candies, cakes, cream pies, fruit jellies, marshmallows, ice cream even yogurts!

We all know that everybody loves this stuff. Vegans have their share of sweetness too but in equally good substitutes like agar-agar, carrageenan, kosher gelatin, and vegan gel.

For the love of sweets, let’s see the ingredients that you can use to prepare for yourself a yummy vegan Jell-O alternative.

 

Agar-agar

This gelling agent is made from pressed seaweed and comes in the form of flakes, bars, or powder. There are many brands of agar-agar offered on Amazon.

Agar agar

When cooked and stirred, it takes just about an hour to set into gel without the need for refrigeration.

Quick Tips

  • Use more portions for a firmer jelly and less for a softer jelly.
  • Flaked or powdered agar-agar can be stirred directly in liquid while the solid one has to be dissolved first.
  • You might need to use more agar-agar in a citrus fruit dessert for best results.

 

Carrageenan (Irish moss)

Carrageenan is made from dried seaweed and is an ideal for soft jellies, mousses, and soups. Plenty of brands are also to buy on Amazon.

Carrageenan

You can check out Lieber’s unflavored gel made from carrageenan for a perfect vegan dessert.

Quick Tip

Iota Carrageenan is best on soft gels while Kappa Carrageenan for firmer gels.

 

Kuzu (Kudzu) – Japanese arrowroot

This thing is used in Japan as a thickener. You can also get it on Amazon.

You must see this beautiful video of making a vegan coconut kudzu pudding:

Simply.. a masterpiece..

 

Xanthan gum

Xanthan gum is made by fermenting a certain type of sugar in a sterile growth environment for one to four days using a microbial substance.

You can get it on Amazon as well.

Xanthan gum

There is a great article called “Fact about Xanthan gum in gluten-free baking” by Gluten Free Gigi.

 

Guar gum

Guar gum is made from guar bean and usually comes in a form of powder. Here is a list of available brands on Amazon.

Guar gum

If you are using guar gum to substitute the gelatin, be sure to divide the amount of gelatin required by the recipe by 6. However, depending on the dish you are making, the amount may vary, so go ahead and be creative.

 

Do you have your favorite jelly or pudding recipe? Share it with us!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *