Is Cool Whip Vegan?

Is Cool Whip Vegan?

Posted on
The answer: NO

You wouldn’t want to try this because it is totally non-vegan.

Because vegans love facts, let’s check out the ingredients contained in Cool Whip (the Original one):

  • water,
  • hydrogenated vegetable oil,
  • high fructose corn syrup,
  • corn syrup,
  • skim milk,
  • light cream,
  • sodium caseinate (a milk derivative),
  • natural and artificial flavor,
  • xanthan and guar gums,
  • polysorbate 60,
  • sorbitan monostearate,
  • sodium polyphosphate,
  • beta carotene (as a coloring)

There we are. Did you notice skimmed milk, light cream, and sodium caseinate? Caseinate is simply a protein that has been extracted from milk. Plus, this collection doesn’t look healthy at all. Let’s take, for instance, hydrogenated vegetable oil – one of the worst form of fats there can be. What it does to your body is it increases the level of LDL (bad cholesterol) and lowers HDL (good cholesterol) in the blood. Avoid trans fats at all costs.

So, let’s see what can be done in order to satisfy the need for the bit of tasty creamy whip.

 

Vegan whipped creams

Don’t worry, there are plenty of them. Here is a short list for starters:

  • coconut whipped cream;
  • raw macadamia nut whipped cream;
  • soy whipped cream – available in stores and is surprisingly similar in texture and flavor to dairy whipped creams;
  • rice whipped cream – like the soy whipped cream, this too is available in stores and resembles the typical whipped cream;
  • tofu whipped topping – you will absolutely love silken tofu as a topping for your cakes and pies or as a dip for your fruity ventures.

 
Again, nothing beats that fluffy, sweet, and light homemade coconut whipped cream that will make a great difference as a topping on your cakes and snacks.


 
Which is your favorite non-vegan whipped cream or topping?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *