Is Boba Vegan?

Is Boba Vegan?

Posted on
The answer: Mostly YES

If you appreciate your boba, it is a good idea to be in the habit of making a special request so that the person selling or preparing it for you will get you a purely vegan boba.


Boba, also known as bubble tea, is a popular beverage prepared by blending tapioca balls with teas or fruit juices. The tapioca balls are usually left floating in the drinks and are served cold with a straw that can suck up the tapioca balls. The drink would obviously be vegan if it remained plain with only these basic ingredients.


However, the question about them being vegan arises because most of boba is sold in the form of a powder that is supposed to be blended with milk and this makes it non-vegan. While some of these mixes are vegan and can be blended using rice or soy milk, other powder is sold already containing dairy cream and these actually have an animal derivative.


To avoid consuming what you are not sure of, you can actually make your own 100% vegan boba at home. This will help you to avoid not only the dairy loaded powder but also the high tons of calories found in the sugar.


Purchase the tapioca pearls (there are tons of them on Amazon) and a straw. It is best if you can only make what you want to drink now. The following simple steps we got from TheKitchn will help you fix your own boba to suit your taste. However, since you are vegan, you will definitely skip the adding milk or cream step.


Have you tried boba already?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *