Are Marshmallows Vegan?

Are Marshmallows Vegan?

Posted on
The answer: Mostly NO

The original marshmallows were made from the sap of the marshmallow plant along with honey and nuts. Today, marshmallows are made from corn syrup, sugar, gelatin and for some egg whites which makes both the original and the marshmallows we see today a no-no for the vegan.

Watch this and you’ll know how marshmallows are made:

 

For starters, gelatin is derived from animal, specifically pig skin and bones. It is mostly used in the food industry as a gelling agent. The health part of marshmallow is also not the best as an everyday confection since it is loaded with sugar which can be detrimental to the body if taken in excess.

 

The good news is that there are manufacturers producing vegan marshmallows. Here gelatin is replaced with agar-agar, guar gum, or vegan gelatin making it perfectly okay and equally or better-tasting compared to marshmallows on the other side. Others, quite simply omit gelatin and still go on to produce real marshmallows which makes it even more interesting.

 

Some popular vegan brands that you can check out include:

 

Alternatively, why not enjoy making your own homemade marshmallows since most of these great brands we see today started from someone’s kitchen!

This simple vegan marshmallow recipe will set you off on a healthy treat made by you for you.

 

How do you love your marshmallows; homemade or store bought?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *