Are Honey Nut Cheerios Vegan?

Are Honey Nut Cheerios Vegan?

Posted on
The answer: NO

Honey Nut Cheerios are not vegan because they contain honey. The best selling, all time America’s favorite cereal bears some seriously vegan concerns.

Lately, BuzzBee has been missing from the Honey Nut Cheerios cereal box. Apparently, General Mills have noted the declining bee population and are using the missing bee as a campaign to save or recover the bee population. Why, because it is important that pollination be sustainable so that they have a sustainable supply of 30% of the ingredients they depend on for production.

Quite interesting!

Is this whole campaign to save the bee or the business?
Honey is not vegan because it’s harvest by human beings threatens the health and lives of bees. Bees depend on honey for food.

In case you are a how-is-it-made nerd, here is a video of how Cheerios are made:

And here is the list of ingredients:

  • Whole Grain Oats (includes the oat bran)
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Honey
  • Brown Sugar Syrup
  • Salt
  • Tripotassium Phosphate
  • Canola and/or Rice Bran Oil
  • Natural Almond Flavor
  • Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness.

 

If you really love General Mills breakfast cereals, there is only one exception that’s vegan – The Fiber One Original. Otherwise you may want to consider other brands with vegan breakfast cereals like Kellogg’s Fruit ‘n’ Fibre, Weetabix, Rice Krispies, Jordan’s Country Crisp, and Cap’n’ Crunch to name but a few.

 

What’s your favorite breakfast cereal?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *