Are Burger King Onions Rings Vegan?

Are Burger King Onion Rings Vegan?

Posted on
The answer: NO

In essence, onion rings are meant to be totally vegan. However, the all so delicious Burger King onion rings are not vegan as they contain whey which is a milk extract, as part of their ingredients. Additionally, their production process somehow gets them in the mix of other non-vegan snacks like pork sausage and fish fillet because they have a common frying pan (more on this here). So better be safe than get yourself in the mix too.

Here is a full list of ingredients contained in Burger King Onion Rings (Can you believe that?):

  • Water
  • Bleached wheat flour
  • Dehydrated onion
  • Modified cornstarch
  • Yellow corn flour
  • Sugar
  • Gelatinized wheat starch
  • Salt
  • Guar Gum
  • Methylcellulose
  • Fructose
  • Onion powder
  • Food starch – modified
  • Sodium alginate
  • Sunflower oil
  • Natural flavors
  • Canola oil
  • Grill flavor (from sunflower oil)
  • Wheat gluten
  • Modified palm oil
  • Sodium tripolyphosphate
  • Whey
  • Dextrose
  • Garlic powder
  • Leavening (baking soda, sodium aluminum phosphate)
  • Hydroxypropylmethylcellulose
  • Yeast extract
  • Spice
  • Corn starch
  • Sorbitol
  • Dried yeast
  • Calcium chloride
  • Parfried in soybean oil

Source – Fooducate.com

33 ingredients! It seems like this is a product of a secret government military lab designed to feed the half-human soldiers.

Even if all the ingredients were vegan, I wouldn’t touch it anyway. This amount of different products mixed together makes the food very far away from natural.

If for any reason you find yourself in Burger King, be cautious of what you order. Don’t just trust the name of the meal (other meals also may sound as innocent as “onion rings” and contain dozens of cosmic ingredients), but be sure to ask for the list of ingredients. The safest way to go is to order vegetable salads like Garden Side Salad. Just make sure to avoid any dressings, as they are not vegan.

As a vegan, you always have to be careful when you walk into such places. More often than not, their menus change and so do the ingredients. For that reason, always be certain about this before placing an order.

 

Diy vegan onion rings

Why not invite a bunch of friends to your place and prepare a pile of home-made vegan onion rings. Check out this easy recipe of vegan onion rings:

 

What is your opinion on eating at places like Burger King?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *