Are Bagels Vegan?

Are Bagels Vegan?

Posted on
The answer: YES

Bagels in their most basic or simplest form are considered vegan. This bread with a Jewish origin is only made yeasted wheat dough from rye or whole grain that’s boiled in water for a short time and then baked. Some would top its surface with sunflower, sesame, or poppy seeds just before baking which made it even more nutritious and yes, 100% vegan.

Check out how bagels are made the industrial way:

 

However, some variations are available in the stores today which you need to be keen on. Companies today have made this ring-shaped bread with several flavors perhaps in a bid to woo different consumers.

 

Other varieties of flour commonly used for bagel dough include pumpernickel, sourdough, bran, and multigrain. These, however, do not represent non-vegan ingredients for the vegan. The suspect ingredients any vegan should watch out for in the label are eggs and cheese. Other additional ingredients used in flavored bagels would include blueberry, onion, garlic, cinnamon, chocolate chip and raisins which vegans consider safe in their diet and are mostly used on the often soft and sweet breakfast bagels.

 

Bagels are Nutritious

The standard bagels, especially those baked with multigrain or whole-wheat, are great if you are thinking fiber, healthy starch and no cholesterol. Flavor bagels, on the other hand, contain additives like cheese, sugar, and others which compromise the nutritional value of this bread.

 

Fruity flavored bagels are also common for instance cherry, blueberry, strawberry, banana, or nut flavors. The question would be whether it is real fruit or processed fruit flavors. The beauty of it is that you can always fix your own delicious homemade bagel right in your kitchen. Here’s how to: Vegan Everything Bagel Recipe.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *